Arnica To The Rescue!

I recently had the misfortune of tripping over the power cord to my laptop and was not able to break my subsequent fall in time. I landed flat on the bridge of my nose. It was a hard enough fall to cause pain and profuse bleeding.
I was able to locate a small vial of arnica montana (more on that below) and took 3 pellets within 30 minutes of falling and about every 30 minutes after. I went to the hospital to get checked for a broken nose and to see if I needed stitches. Ex-rays confirmed no broken bones (yeah!) and the doctor felt that a bandage for 5 days would do the same job as stitches, so I opted for the bandage.
The doctor advised me that I would probably have 2 black eyes within 48 hours and the expected swelling etc.
I am writing this post 2 1/2 days after the fall and am ecstatic to report I only have very slight redness under 1 eye. No visible bruising or swelling has occurred. I have incurred bruising many times in my life under much less trauma than this and I believe that my face would look very different had it not been for arnica.
So what is arnica montana? Very simply, it is a homeopathic remedy. I took the oral version, which are very small sugar pellets with a remedy coating on the outside. Avoid touching the pellets directly with your fingers, as the remedy can rub off on your fingers.  Arnica dilates your blood vessels, stimulates white blood cells to the injured site, decreases swelling and bruising. When ever you have physical trauma that produces pain, bruising, swelling or inflammation of any kind, reach for Arnica, (in addition to seeking qualified medical help if necessary). Homeopathy is an ancient type of alternative medicine that is based on “like cures like”.
The moral of my story is two-fold:

  • not being present in the moment can have disasterous effects , so take the time to slow down
  • arnica montana is a must in a first aid kit. This rememdy is available at any health store for under $10.

It doesn’t really matter if you have an active lifeltyle, have children engaged in sports activities, are recovering from surgery or are just running an errand, arnica is very useful to have on hand at all times. It comes in such a small vial, it can easily fit into a purse, glove box or back pocket. Get some today because you never know when you might need it!

P1020843

3 thoughts on “Arnica To The Rescue!

  1. It’s all true, I arrive on the scene 10 mins. after the fall with blood and stuff everywhere. I thought for sure . . . “major black eyes”, yet nothing! Amazing . . . it works! I am stocking up on the stuff!

  2. thanks for sharing your story…horrible you had such a terrible fall
    Great that you had Arnica on the ready…need to get me some
    can I get it at a health food store

Leave a Reply

